`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
2024 Off Season and Draft

RE: 2024 Off Season and Draft
(04-19-2024, 03:50 PM)rjcj2017 Wrote: I did an informal review of 3-4 mock drafts, and of the consensus top 20-25 picks or so, I think I have at least one card of almost all of them at this point.

It's a double edged sword - I would be running all over trying to find 2024 draft products if all of the cards were of new players, but I mean, I've been accumulating Spencer Rattler cards for about 3 years now LOL
Of the quarterbacks in this year's draft, I have auto cards from all of the major ones but Caleb Williams - I have 2022 and 2023 auto cards of Jayden Daniels.  I have multiple numbered cards of Williams already.  And I think I already have college licensed cards from most of hte major players in the draft other than Jayden Daniels who doesn't have any. 

I'd still probably get some Chronicles Draft Picks because of the variety of sets and it's generally a good value - but other than the variety from Chronicles Draft Picks, what is the point?  I guess there can finally be Jayden Daniels LSU cards but that's a pretty minor hook.

Given that college licensed cards really don't sell any better than player licensed, there isn't much appeal for the Bowman/Panini products of incoming draft picks other than the few who didn't have previous college licensed cards and let's face it, it's almost impossible to imagine another case like Jayden Daniels where there were few cards of a future Heisman Trophy winner/top draft pick - he obviously was willing to sign for a card company and appear on cards but only Sage was releasing it - unless someone Daniels signed an agreement to appear exclusively with Sage. But I doubt that.

I repeat, Leaf is signing a bunch of high school quarterbacks to exclusive deals - those players are going to have 4-5 maybe even 6 years of autograph cards before they reach the NFL.