Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Where to Start?

Where to Start?
Hi folks,

I'm completely new to the hobby and looking for general guidelines or tips on where to start with collecting football cards. Are there certain packs worth exploring first? Is it best to approach the hobby with certain goals in mind?

I'm a die hard Vikings fan and would love to collect a full roster for the 2018 season - working from that goal, where do I begin?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

RE: Where to Start?
Welcome to the Beckett community and sports collecting! It can be a lot of fun if you set parameters and stick to them.
You could get a lot of different advice for your questions, but nearly everyone will tell you that there is no 1 method that fits all.
I am a die-hard Viking fan too but I collect based on the look of the card and then the player. So, I do trades or purchases or online breaks of products that look good to me.

If you like a few certain players, then searching COMC or Beckett Marketplace is a good option. If you like anything in Purple, then just buying packs is not a good economic choice.

Good luck and update your progress once in a while.

I was going to suggest joining the BCCG team trade group but the Vikings are claimed by StylinDylan. I would go ahead and contact him though, I have traded with him a couple of times he a good guy and probably trade you a boat load of duplicate purple that he has.
I collect Ray Lewis, Roger Staubach, Drew Pearson, Kellen Winslow Sr..  I no longer keep my Org here up to date. Please check with me.  Here is a thread with links to my inventory.