`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Do redemptions get a bad rep?

Do redemptions get a bad rep?
I know most of the time redemptions go over like a hair in biscuit.

However this past year, I have had some good experiences. For what it is worth, this is my recent approach.

Getting redemptions when busting wax or participating in group breaks will always suck.

Buying individual redemptions is what I like to do but only in two circumstances.

1). HOFers or future HOFers in high end products and he has autos in other products.
Sellers know redemptions are not a buyer's first choice. You can get a great player at a cheaper price. Plus there isn't a fear they won't sign because they already have autos on the market.

2). Mid to late round rookie quarterbacks. The combination of a redemption and a late round draft pick means you can buy it dirt cheap. If he doesn't sign or is a bust, you didn't pay much anyway.

I never even consider buying a redemption of an early round, over hyped rookie. By the time they sign or make the decision not to sign at all, they can be a mediocre player or a bust all together. Nothing like going to the mailbox and getting a redemption that you overpaid for a year ago and now it isn't worth the cardboard it's printed on. Speaking from personal experience from about ten years ago.

Just some random opinions, feel free to agree, bash, or add your philosophy.

Jeremy
My Bucket

Wish list
1) Reggie White Auto
2) 2005 Topps Fan Favorite John Elway Auto (Baseball)
4) $$$ to buy 1 & 2

RE: Do redemptions get a bad rep?
(11-21-2016, 06:05 PM)jeremy7269 Wrote: I know most of the time redemptions go over like a hair in biscuit.

However this past year, I have had some good experiences. For what it is worth, this is my recent approach.

Getting redemptions when busting wax or participating in group breaks will always suck.

Buying individual redemptions is what I like to do but only in two circumstances.