`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
2002 TOPPS 206 Tris Speaker TR-TS CORK GAME-USED

2002 TOPPS 206 Tris Speaker TR-TS CORK GAME-USED
Been sitting on this one for quite sometime. Bought a case of the 2002 Topps 206's back in 2002. Pulled the Tris Speaker TR-TS card myself and to my surprise the slice of game used bat had some wood and another substance that looks a lot like cork! I sent the card into Beckett for grading and because it was enclosed in the larger card they could not determine nor seems to eager to say cork and did a general grading. Beckett did reach out to Topps to verify that the bat was sourced from a family member of Tris Speaker.

Anyone ever see anything like this? I've been collecting for over 40 years and never seen a Game-Used card with this big of a question mark.Link to Pictures of card below.

https://www.amazon.com/clouddrive/share/...K9E1pZnCQp

Love thoughts or feedback on who might be able to provide additional insight or who I should contact next?

-Don

RE: 2002 TOPPS 206 Tris Speaker TR-TS CORK GAME-USED
Well as a carpenter of 40 years we use cork to fill lag holes in log homes so I have seen my share. It looks like cork to me, but that being said the source is a family member and it is not being passed off as game used so I hope no one over reacts. After all I remember a bat card from Pacific that cost them a license back in 99 or 2000 (Ramirez if I recall) enjoy the card, great conversation piece

It was a Manny Ramirez card in 2000 that gave Pacific a black eye. Here's the story:

https://www.cardboardconnection.com/trut...d-bat-card
I collect Hall of Fame baseball player cards and cards of current and retired superstars.

My Huge Wantlist: http://www.zeprock.com/WantList.html

(08-29-2018, 07:07 AM)zeprock Wrote: It was a Manny Ramirez card in 2000 that gave Pacific a black eye. Here's the story:

https://www.cardboardconnection.com/trut...d-bat-card