`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 2.5 Average
Rookie looking for help

Rookie looking for help
I am new to collecting cards again and was looking for any help on the subject. Started out with some blaster boxes of contenders 14. I enjoyed breaking boxes with the possibility of hitting an auto. But I am looking at this from only a collecting part not looking to sell and try and make my money back. Would like ideas on hobby boxes that have good hits per break. Have been looking at 2014 Rookies & Stars good bang for my buck with 4 autos/ memorabilia cards per box. Looking at keeping my boxes to around $50ish a box.
Any info would help. Thank you.

RE: Rookie looking for help
First off, from LOTS of experience, the retail stuff is rarely going to give you very good hits. And, I mean RARELY. I've hit a couple decent things over the years (been collecting for 25 years or so).

That being said, retail is fun if you have 20 bucks and don't want to travel a long way to get hobby.

Now, as to other aspects of collecting, the first thing I tell people new to the hobby is that you need to find your collecting center. What I mean by that is a focus that you have that will allow you to fully enjoy the collecting hobby without getting frustrated. There are SO many products, with so many variations that without a focus in your collecting, you'll spend a lot of money and really have nothing to really show for it except a bunch of worthless base cards.