`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
2013 year starting - Retail stores selling cards

2013 year starting - Retail stores selling cards
I know there have been a few threads in the past that have addressd where retail packs are sold. I would like to see if there are any updates to this and I'll kick it off (i'm an avid retail guy only because RIGHT OR WRONG, I feel the value is better because I'm a set builder (only thing I don't like is when the card production is different from hobby/retail a la Topps Strata retail is thinner stock and hobby has thicker. I really dont like that fact, but all else i like...feel free to try to talk me out of this during the thread. I'm not 100% retail, but I need a strong argument...and have searched for one telling me how I'm wasting my time. Oh, also i'm in maryland/VA area so I know that is a factor as some stores mentioned I've never heard of. Also I only collect baseball and football and while below generally applies to the major 6 sports, I don't know how big the selection is for the other sports as much.

and others that I people have mentioned, but I have never seen. Any truth to these stores (and how recent is the proof?)
Best Buy; Big Lots; some grocery stores, but haven't seen this since the '90's. Other sports equipment stores with better selection....? (true or false?); Walgreens; Sam's Club;

ANYHOW, so here goes from a retail buyer (over 200 blaster boxes and counting, plus at least that many racks packs and probably 10 individual packs since they are the most easily searched..yeah I know racks can as well, but I guess I'm naive that I think its harder for that to happen.)
1. Target - by far biggest selection of the most recent year.
2. Walmart - 2nd to Target for most recent year and they have a little more in terms of older unopened boxes for things like Topps Chromes 2010 baseball.