`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Trading new cards: Near Mint vs Mint

Trading new cards: Near Mint vs Mint
I'm new to trading and Becketts site. I have made a decent amount of trades over the past few months. All trades have gone off without a hitch. 95% of tha cards I have traded and traded for have been 2012 and 2013 cards and nothing has been high end, as I have been building Topps and Gypsy Queen sets.

On one of the recent trades I noticed that every card that I traded for was listed as mint, but every card I traded was marked near mint. After going back through my trades I noticed a handful had their cards marked as mint. I also found that mint cards are valued 25% higher then my near mint cards. I expect every new 2012 and 2013 card to be in the same perfect condition so it looks like I have been trading in favor by 25% on these deals without realizing it.

What's the common practice on this? Should I mark my newer cars as mint or just try to get the trade in my favor by 25% when dealing with someone that has theirs marked as mint?
Currently building: 2015 Topps S1/2/UP, 2016 Topps Series 1, 2016 Gypsy Queen
Super Collect Jeff Samardzija
PC: Frank Thomas, Andruw Jones, David Justice, Duke Basketball, Notre Dame Football

RE: Trading new cards: Near Mint vs Mint
ask them to mark their cards nm-mt. if they refuse you can always change yours to mint and increase the value of yours by 25%. usually people are compliant though and will change when asked.