`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
About Grading Old Finest

About Grading Old Finest
Hi all, i recently picked up the hobby that i put down over 10 years. Found many Finest from 90's in boxes but most of them has faded colors. I am also new to card grading, so my question here is are the Finest (or Chrome) faded color card will also be considered in the grading process? So any of the faded cards shall be getting a low grade as a result? Can anyone tell me more about this issue? Thanks in advance.

RE: About Grading Old Finest
May want to check to see if it has a plastic film covering. Finest can fade if exposed to temperature extremes whether hot or cold ( its plastic and acts as plastic does). Faded items detract from surface grades so expect to be dinged on that. Pics maybe ?

Jeff

Thanks Jeff. The plastic films are on. Actually, i didn't touch my cards for 15 years, all store in the paper carton box in top loaders or screw down. That means all without the exposure to light, and they are put indoor so the temperature would not be too extreme i think. Many of the Finest or Chrome have the same issue, including Jordan refractor, Grant Hill RC, Tim Duncan RC... But the key i wanna ask is how Beckett Grading or PSA to determine the grade of a fading Finest/Chrome

The grading services will ding you on surface if its faded and treat that covering as the surface. Frankly unless its spot perfect with no imperfections comes down to the old peel versus not peel arguments.

I'm a peel guy unless its dead on perfect. Faded qualifies as a surface issue so I'd personally peel.

One of the best written articles I ever saw is bookmarked HERE

Hope this helps-
Jeff