`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 13 Vote(s) - 3.77 Average
Zeprock Collection

RE: Zeprock Collection
A lot of my older cards are not as "mint" as they look. I am a graphic artist and I've scanned them in at high resolution and use PhotoShop to remove scanner dust and a crease here and there as well as "cleaning up" some borders and boosting the saturation. Some of my cards are near mint but no one really wants to see my beat up cards so I've "enhanced" some of them. They are all cards that I have. I hope they spark memories and you enjoy seeing them.
I collect Hall of Fame baseball player cards and cards of current and retired superstars.

My Huge Wantlist: http://www.zeprock.com/WantList.html

Even as a kid I had an idea of Clemente's greatness. I was aware that he was a major contributor to the Pirates World Championship in 1971. I'd seen his picture on some of my old Batting Leaders cards and I saw his stats on the back of his card and knew he had a lifetime batting average over .300. I remember him getting his 3000th hit and thinking, "Wow! Not that many players had done that before." Along with Aaron, Mays and McCovey, he was one of my favorite National League players. I remember coming down to breakfast on New Year's Day 1973 and my Mom was reading the Bangor Daily News and she told me a baseball player had been killed in a plane crash. I was 13 years old and I was shocked and went around for a couple of weeks telling everyone and anyone who would listen about Roberto Clemente. He's still one of my five favorite players to collect. As of this posting I have 372 different Beckett recognized cards of Roberto. Here are nine of them including some vintage, inserts and a couple oddities.

1957 Topps #76 Roberto Clemente
1965 Topps Embossed #19 Roberto Clemente
1968 Topps #374 Roberto Clemente AS

1968 Topps Game #6 Roberto Clemente
1969 Topps Deckle Edge #27 Roberto Clemente
1970 Kellogg's #27 Roberto Clemente