Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Total noobs needs advice

Total noobs needs advice
Hello,

I am new to collecting cards and am seeking advice. I want to collect, but I cant afford to buy all 9 of the Panini versions. I apologize for the noobie questions, but thats what I am. I have read some of the similar threads on here and I know the majority say to "collect singles" that you want. Thing is, I do want to collect sets.

Is there a "set of record" or "main set" that Panini makes? If so, which?

What set would you say will produce cards that have the most $ dollar value, short and long term?

Are the sets currently out worth getting, or should I wait for the other sets to be released closer to the fall?

My goal is: I want to collect the complete set or sets, regardless of which ones I get into. Id like to have one set that is the "set of record" and then another set that I can have fun with because it produces the biggest hits. If both of those are accomplished in one set, what set would that be?

Thanks.

RE: Total noobs needs advice
anything national treasures or contenders seems to be most valuable.
[Image: TT8dhuE.png]
Collecting Terrell Owens,Tom Brady,Peyton Manning, Josh Hamilton, Alex Smith
If you don't have any HIGH end cards, please don't try to acquire one of mine. Thank you.

That is a question that can only be answered by knowing the kind of cash you are willing to spend. I usually just collect the base set of the set of cards that I think look the best for the year.
I collect Peyton Manning and Griffey Jr.
My Bucket: http://s444.photobucket.com/albums/qq164/soccerscrub78
[Image: manning-griffeybanner2.jpg]

I like the idea of targeting base set. I do understand the challenge of trying to get every version of every card and I surely wont be spending every penny on this.