`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
Buying Steph Curry RCs?

Buying Steph Curry RCs?
I have been collecting cards for 20 years but have been somewhat of an off and on collector...not surprisingly, I have seen Stephen Curry's rookie cards skyrocket in the past year. However, looking at eBay prices, I have seen that the prices have tailed off a bit (specifically referring to the Topps RC) since the Warriors set the wins record. Currently I see BGS 9 ones going in the $300-350 range and BGS 8.5s for $200-250. I am a believer that he will likely win another MVP or 2 and lead the Warriors to future titles, but I am curious whether this would be the right time to buy, considering he's at the peak of his popularity.

RE: Buying Steph Curry RCs?
I wouldn't touch those cards right now. At the beginning of the season his Topps RC was going for under $10. Considering Curry won the MVP and championship last year, that should tell you something. There has been a huge influx of people who think they need to "invest" in Curry rookies and the Topps RC has been their rookie of choice. If you want a short term investment then it could be worthwhile if he wins the Championship this year then you could sell during the final game to maximize a return. However if you are wanting to hold for the long term just wait a few months after the finals and his cards will cool off quite a bit more. Honestly if I was looking to invest in Curry rookies, I would look around at some of his other ones that are nicer/rarer but not selling for as much as the Topps rookie.
Collecting John Stockton, Karl Malone, Ivan Rodriguez, Gary Carter & UF player rookie year cards.  Plus Jedd Gyorko rookie and prospect cards.
Jedd Gyorko 2010-2013: Have 329/419 including 1/1s
Wantlist: http://sites.google.com/site/sportscardsite/set-needs/