`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 1.5 Average
Better than a mail day (Scans)... [Story]

Better than a mail day (Scans)... [Story]
Alright so I work as a service technician for a telecommunications company and while I was working inside a home today I saw a box of cards and a really thick binder from the 90's era sitting in the corner. Well it's not too uncommon to see 90's junk laying around in attics or garages so I didn't get too excited at first but as I looked a little closer without actually taking a look (Because I try to be as professional as possible ;/) I see about 100 top loaders in a box... Well at this point, I become intrigued and I just had to know what was in there so I took my first shot at striking up a conversation about collecting and apparently he was a hardcore collector/buyer/trader in the 90's and he lost most of his collection during Katrina...

Well eventually he told me to take a look if I wanted so, almost instantly, I began digging in and it was a blast seeing what he had in there.. It was mostly Griffey, Bonds, Ripken, Andruw Jones, and Jeter inserts with a lot of randoms mixed in but nothing really high dollar from what I could tell. I'm not too savvy on 90's era but I remember some of it from my childhood and they really did make some visually appealing cards in that era. As I went on, I tried to avoid the value conversation as much as possible because I do know enough about collecting to know that a lot of people have no idea most of it is worthless these days but we did talk briefly about it and he did know a little about card values tanking so I just told him I really didn't know what much of it was worth because I mostly collect stuff from this era and he was okay with that so I dodged that bullet...