`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Should I expect better?

Should I expect better?
I started my card collecting in 1978 with football. Only really collected for 3 years before I joined the USAF and was shipped to Japan for a majority of the 80s. With so much to do over there I really didn't think too much about sportscards. Since I'm a set builder and missed most of that decade I decided recently to buy 1 Topps box starting from 1983 to 1990. I've busted most of it and was wondering if off-centered, bent corners, print spots, and fuzzy photos were common to those years? I'm pretty picky about the sets I build and was just curious if I'm expecting too much. I get the gum and wax stains but is it impossible to build a nm-mt set or should I just expect this and settle for a exmt-nm set? I love busting packs and don't want to buy the factory sets but if those cards will be in better condition other than the wax/gum stains I may just go that route. Thanks for any help.

Mike
Collecting Phillies base cards from 1950-present
Collecting all catcher prospect and rookie cards

RE: Should I expect better?
That's common from that era. It is called the "Overproduction Era", everyone thought cards would make them rich if they stored them away for 20 years, so the companies ran off many, many more, which violated the principle of supply and demand. Thus, the cards have no value and since they were being run off so fast and in such great quantity, there was no Quality Control or collation. You can expect defects in boxes from that time.
[Image: k4VFlSs.png] [Image: xnRMc6d.png]

I collect Dirk Hayhurst.
Thank you jbel4331 for the banner!