IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 2 Average
OT: Coin Collectors please come on in.... I am looking for help/input/advice

OT: Coin Collectors please come on in.... I am looking for help/input/advice
I recently picked up the hobby of collecting coins, silver and gold

i have some questions for some certain pieces i have
also i'd like any basic tips/help because i am brand new in it and really dont know much about it at all

so please post in here or PM me if you know your coins pretty well!!!!!!!

THANKSSmile

I come here to ask because there is such a wide variety of people on this site that are very helpful in many fields

RE: OT: Coin Collectors please come on in.... I am looking for help/input/advice
What type of coins are you collecting?
bullion?

RE: OT: Coin Collectors please come on in.... I am looking for help/input/advice
I only collect coins from the USA, Canada and African Kruggerands. Those are the ones that state the actual sivler/gold content and purity. Anything from anywhere else must be encased and graded for me to purchase because of too many fakes out there

anything silver you want get from pre 1960 or so when they were 90% silver. Some of the newer silver dollars like the silver eagle are 99% pure though. Also try to stay away from stuff that was personally melted down by people, there is a scam where they will use a lead core and pure silver or gold over it. Also be very careful with gold nuggets.

While most i have found are true and real such as the ones from alaska, youll find a few faked gold nuggets melted down and drop in wood cutouts to appear like nuggets or just plain water. Nuggets are worth more as they havent been refined yet and are of good purity.

The good nuggets are in the 20-23k range usually. It would be a good idea to get a metal testing kit if you get into that area. Good luck, i have been doing it for about a year now and have a nice stock of silver and a lil bit of gold so far,
[Image: Dmurray29.jpg]