`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Grading question

Grading question
I know I'm a pretty big noob when it comes to graded cards (I only have one myself), that being said, what is the difference between a BCCG graded card and a BGS graded card? They're both Beckett correct? I ask because I've been looking up graded rookie cards on eBay and was just unsure of the difference.
[Image: Untitled-1-1.jpg]

RE: Grading question
HUUUGE difference my friend.
I don't have very much interest in graded cards myself.
I knowww it keeps them safe and all.....but almost every card you send in grades in the condition listed for Beckett prices....so why should that make the card THAT much more valuable?
Sorry for the rant..back to the point.

BCCG cards are kinda a way for Beckett to get some business on the low-end.
I know they are no where near as strict on grading and no where near as valuable as a BGS card.

If you are going to dip into the graded card market I would suggest investing in NOTHING but BGS graded cards.

A lot of dealers or sellers will submit to BCCG because a BGS 7.5 would grade a 10 or 9 if you submit to BCCG and try to trick people who don't know the difference. BCCG is pretty much useless IMO because it isn't strict at all...

BGS/BVG/PSA/SCG are the only graded cards to trust but imo, BGS/BVG are the best.
-Collecting rookie, game-used, and autographed cards of Hall of Famers and future Hall of Famers in baseball, basketball, and football.
-Collecting autographs/cut autos and memorabilia of historic figures.

I have to correct you Marino... SGC and PSA are also well-respected grading companies. Also, respectable card grades depend on what condition the card actually IS, not what Beckett lists in their condition guide per era. If that were the case, you would never see a card graded a 9.5 or 10 as these are above mint condition. You would also probably not see cards graded at 1 or 2 or 3.