`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dumb question about grading (Cards back! Very Happy)

Dumb question about grading (Cards back! Very Happy)
Hey guys. I want to send a bunch of vintage cards to be graded. I have never done this before. My question is: how do you send them? Specifically, how do you package them? What box works best? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
PC: Cardinal Parallels/Rainbows of Pujols, Chris Carpenter, Molina, Lankford, Gibson, Musial, and Cardinal Prospects

RE: Dumb question about grading
(08-15-2011, 06:23 PM)hendu29 Wrote: Hey guys. I want to send a bunch of vintage cards to be graded. I have never done this before. My question is: how do you send them? Specifically, how do you package them? What box works best? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
How many are you sending? I've always been able to get all of mine into a large bubble mailer. I package them as you would a trade and I also buy some insurance.
Interested in EX-MT or better pre-'56 Cardinals, '53 Bowman Color & '74-'78 Topps.
http://s606.photobucket.com/home/jalbregts

No such thing as a dumb question!

I'm probably a little overboard, but not a whole lot I guess. I put each card in a penny sleeve and then into a Card Saver. I don't recall which one I have (Card Saver 1 or 2) but I have a boatload if you need some I can just shoot them over but they are not necessary.

Anyway, I then put them together, wrap the invoice around them, and put them into a bubble mailer. I put the bubble mailer into one of those small priority mail boxes with some cushioning around it, seal the box, and mail with insurance and tracking for my own peace of mind.

Anyway, that's how I go but as long as it's secure you're good to go. I think they give recommendations on how to pack/ship on the invoice or site that you're using. I think a key part, and Beatles Guy already hit on it, is to buy insurance.