Beckett Message Boards
Did Chris Olds raise the price of Nick Swisher cards? - Printable Version

+- Beckett Message Boards (https://www.beckett.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Hobby Talk (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Baseball (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Did Chris Olds raise the price of Nick Swisher cards? (/thread-1442544.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Did Chris Olds raise the price of Nick Swisher cards? - benlee66 - 06-08-2011

Chris Olds, did you have anything to do with Nick Swisher being upgraded to an unlisted star? Pretty obvious conflict of interest. Also, it would be nice to have more than one writer write for the magazine. Chris Olds writes practically every article. One view point gets olds real quick.

Beckett got bought by a big, publicly traded magazine company a few years ago. Ever since, I've seen the content go down while the price goes up. I've been collecting since 1989 and always loved getting the price guides in the mail. Not so fun now, although it is funny to see which cards go up and down. Anyone else notice how a lot of the multi-player cards go up and down all the time? Look at 2008 UD A Piece of History Franchise Members Quad in this month's issue. One card with Jeter on it dropped to $1.00 because Giambi is on the same card. Another card from the same set with Jeter on it books for $6.00. Anyone who has the $1.00 Jeter, let's trade! I'll take them at $1.00 all day long.

RE: Did Chris Olds raise the price of Nick Swisher cards? - richk - 06-09-2011

(06-08-2011, 10:57 PM)benlee66 Wrote: Chris Olds, did you have anything to do with Nick Swisher being upgraded to an unlisted star? Pretty obvious conflict of interest. Also, it would be nice to have more than one writer write for the magazine. Chris Olds writes practically every article. One view point gets olds real quick.