Beckett Message Boards

Full Version: Your thoughts?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I’ve been collecting since 1993. With prices on everything being absolutely crazy these days, I’m thinking of quitting the hobby altogether. If you want a laugh, check out eBay prices for anything cards related. Absolutely insane, with virtually no bang for your buck. No way to make any $, or at least get some value for your money. I think prices will remain ridiculously high for a long time. I love busting wax, but it’s ridiculous to pay $200 ( or more) for a box and get $20 worth of cards.  Breakers are also killing the hobby....
You have collected since 1993 so you have seen the ups and downs of the hobby for almost 30 years now. You've seen and read this story before you are older and im assuming much wiser. Let the process play out. You know what will sustain and what wont. We have new/old blood back in the hobby just enjoy the ride and move some stupid stuff you never thought you could for stupid money. Cards today are the modern day stock market and everyone is enjoying it. Play the angles buy cheap singles. We have all seen players like Dominguez come up and fizzle out. Its going to be some no name guy in 2020 Bowman that will be the man.
Drad_1205 Wrote:You have collected since 1993 so you have seen the ups and downs of the hobby for almost 30 years now. You've seen and read this story before you are older and im assuming much wiser. Let the process play out. You know what will sustain and what wont. We have new/old blood back in the hobby just enjoy the ride and move some stupid stuff you never thought you could for stupid money. Cards today are the modern day stock market and everyone is enjoying it. Play the angles buy cheap singles. We have all seen players like Dominguez come up and fizzle out. Its going to be some no name guy in 2020 Bowman that will be the man.
BINGO!