Beckett Message Boards

Full Version: Fakes on Ebay! Who should we look out for?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Not sure what's going on here.... or maybe I'm just learning about this but just bought a Michael Jordan Rookie (87' Fleer) and it was a fake!

Seller claimed he was selling for a friend...

This is the 3rd fake in one month!! Wow! Is Ebay majority fakes now??

Anyone have any info on any sellers that I should look out for and avoid?

Pictures Attached.
................................................................................

Does anyone know if the 2000 playoff contenders tom brady rookie auto MUST HAVE the Playoff Stamp by the signature or not?

Just purchased a card on Ebay, and seller sent a different card without the stamp!

Attached is a picture of the card.

Thanks!
I would recommend only buying graded Jordan rookies. There are a ton of fakes out there. There are a few things to look for, but you would need to ask for up close scans of certain things on the card.
You need to be very careful when picking up Jordan Fleer RC's.
There are many threads here with detailed explanations on what to look for.

Check out this page

http://bbcemporium.com/1986-fleer-michea...eit-guide/

Best bet is to buy one that has been authenticated or graded by Beckett, PSA or other reputable 3rd party company.

I thought I heard awhile back eBay was only allowing sellers to sell graded Jordan RC's because of all the problems they have had in the past.

But even if they don't you can always return the card to the seller. Even if the seller doesn't want it back. He basically has no choice anymore. You file a claim to return the item. (any item) and the seller has to respond. If he doesn't eBay gets involved and basically forces a return. They are more loyal to buyers these days than sellers it seems like to me.
Caveat emptor.