Beckett Message Boards

Full Version: Prospect card vs rookie card
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
With the "RC" changing from a player's 1st card to the player having to play with the big club, I was wondering which is the better card to have? I'm going through all my cards trying to figure out what to hold on to, the prospect card, the "RC" designated card, or both. Any thoughts or opinions?
To me, a player's RC is the first one I pulled from a pack, whether Beckett or who the h-ll else designates it that way or not.

For example, I've been pulling Machados out of packs since 2010, so to call his cards "rookie cards" from 2013 is beyond a joke to me.

They should just do away with the whole thing.

If Bowman has guys in MLB uniforms and they're considered RCs two years before they make the majors, so be it.

Topps has the MLB exclusive anyway, so I always thought it was redundant and pointless to number the Bowman prospects as "inserts," especially when they come 3-4 per pack.
(02-17-2014, 08:43 PM)rjcj2017 Wrote: [ -> ]To me, a player's RC is the first one I pulled from a pack, whether Beckett or who the h-ll else designates it that way or not.

For example, I've been pulling Machados out of packs since 2010, so to call his cards "rookie cards" from 2013 is beyond a joke to me.

They should just do away with the whole thing.

If Bowman has guys in MLB uniforms and they're considered RCs two years before they make the majors, so be it.

Topps has the MLB exclusive anyway, so I always thought it was redundant and pointless to number the Bowman prospects as "inserts," especially when they come 3-4 per pack.