Beckett Message Boards

Full Version: New Collector... Singles, Packs, or Boxes?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

I posted a thread a few days ago saying that I'm new to the collecting game. I want to thank those of you have responded as it was a great help.

I just have another kind of generic question that I"d like a few people to elaborate on.

As a new collector looking for valuable cards that I could potentially sell one day and ones for my own PC... Where should I start buying?

Should I buy just singles, packs, or boxes?

I'm looking to spend maybe $20-$50 a week or two on new cards.
With the lockout this year I know that new cards are delayed till the end of this month, so what should I be buying?

I just don't want to waste my money on packs that I shouldn't bother with.

Please help!
anyone?
Singles. For value you are safe with MJ, Kobe, Lebron, HOFers and star rookies. For PC, well, whatever you like team or player wise. Whatever you like most about the NBA is what a PC usually ends up being obviously. Welcome and good luck!
Ya my advice is if you go pack\box route at all to only do hobby. Thats one regret I have of my earlier busting days...I'd walk into wally world or target and walk out with bags full of blasters and be stuck with a lot of junk.

Best advice ever ... find a product you really like, and save up for a case ... usually 12 boxes, depending on the product!

Not only is it an insane amount of cards/hits and a ton of fun busting all those packs/boxes, you almost always end up with something special.

Especially if you go with Panini these days, as Durant, Griffin and Kobe are all exclusive signers.

(And no, I don't work for Panini. And yes, I realize there would be a lot of redemptions. I, for one, have never had a redemption issue with them.)

Also, you always have trade bait/stuff to sell as the season goes along.