`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I know this probably belongs in vintage but who doesn't dream...

I know this probably belongs in vintage but who doesn't dream...
http://m.forbes.com/sites/davidseideman/...crap-book/

and if that isn't enough:

www.sportscollectorsdaily.com/hoard-400-t206-cards-uncovered-maryland-heads-auction/

Desert racing baseball card collector? Yeah, that's not weird...

RE: I know this probably belongs in vintage but who doesn't dream...
Holy Grail Batman!!! Can you imagine finding something like that?

It reminds me of a scruffy guy (aged mid-20s) who wandered into my local card shop back in the early 2000s when we had a local card shop. He had some baseball cards he was looking for information on. They were probably 2 1/2" tall and about 10" wide, sepia colored and pictured team photos. My uneducated guess (and I've been collecting cards since 1970) is that they were from the 1800s or very early 1900s. He found them in a decrepit house that he'd bought for the land. This is in Maine. He went through the fallen down house before knocking it all the way down and scavenged all he could from it. The owner of the shop, a "kid" himself, had no idea what they were or what they might be worth but I bet they were something special. Never saw anything like them in person or online again.
I collect Hall of Fame baseball player cards and cards of current and retired superstars.

My Huge Wantlist: http://www.zeprock.com/WantList.html