`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
First Wave Theorum

First Wave Theorum
I really have nothing factual here, except my observation over the past 5 years buying cards (90% retail .. Mostly Target & Walmart) after years of staying far away from the hobby.
This is in part my 'First Wave Theorum' as it applies to retail purchases only.
I have no inside knowledge about how cards are sold and distributed to retail shops, but I'm going to go and make certain assumptions based on my experience.
1) card companies depend on preorders from distributors to determine the amount of cards to print.
2) a certain percentage over that number is printed and held in reserve for reorders, replacements, or damages.
3) when packaging the cards for hobby or retail, The Card company knows exactly which packs have hits, which don't and know approximate odds of pulling a hit.
4) initial orders are sent out. These have slightly better than announced odds since they control the hit rate. It's good for sales and repurchasing if there are great hits/box in the first wave.
5) if successful, the distributor reorders. These reserve boxes are a little less forgiving and odds a little tougher than the First Wave. They probably fill reorders at a substantially higher rate when compared to preorders. If REALLY successful, they can pop out newly printed cards, pack'em up and get them out with substantially less number of hits and significantly 'lesser' hits when packaged.

My recent examples are true for 2 different products this year, and many in the past.
Example 1: Gypsy Queen. First week, bought 5 or 6 boxes. Got about 2 hit per 3 blasters. After that first week, not 1 hit in about 4 more blasters.
Example 2: Diamond Kings. First week was getting about 3 hits for every 4 blasters. Subsequent weeks, about 1 hit in about 5 blasters.