`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scores of Fakes

Scores of Fakes
Has anyone noticed a very large group of maybe, maybe not reprint vintage cards on Ebay the last week or so?
You know the described looks, feels and smells old but I'm no pro at baseball cards so I'll list it as a reprint description. Come from dead granpa's old boxes or bought at flea market years ago and of course found with estate purchase descriptions.

There are so many of these 50's & 60's Mantle's, Reggie's, Nolan's, Robinson's, etc being listed. More then I recall ever seeing and they seem to be becoming more common.

RE: Scores of Fakes
Who knows, except buying expensive vintage, BGS, BVS, PSA graded hopefully rule out fake cards. I just picked up a BVG graded Mantle ... Hopefully it's legit .... I'll post a pic once I get it!
[Image: Ch4Mt.png]
I guess if I saved used tinfoil and used tea bags instead of old comic books and old baseball cards, the difference between a crazed hoarder and a savvy collector is in that inherent value.

Yup. Couple months back picked up a 55 bowman mantle. Traded it for a Trout auto. Guy contacted me last week saying that PSA marked the card as recolored. Didnt state if it was fake though.

Yes sir. Counterfeits and trimmed cards.

Earlier this year I noticed a huge uptick in fakes on eBay. The crazy thing is they weren't faking just ultra expensive cards, but more cards in the $50-$100 range and then trying to get high bids by quoting prices from graded cards and how the cards for sale would be easily high grade. I usually check all of a sellers listings when I buy vintage, simply because if a person has a ton of high grade vintage cards that aren't graded then the odds are high that they may be fake, especially if the seller references graded card prices, but has some excuse about not wanting to send the cards in to get graded.