`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Where to buy cards?

Where to buy cards?
I am just getting into card collecting and a buddy of mine told me that buying cards at a hobby shop will raise the chances of getting better cards then what you buy at let's say walmart. Is this true? Any advice for a newbie would be greatly appreciated!

RE: Where to buy cards?
I'm not a card guru but the difference comes from the fact you're buying hobby version in the hobby shops and retail in the walmart. Hobby is more expensive but rewards you with a better rate for inserts.

It's up to you which path to follow.
French RedSox Fan & Baseball cards collectors.
Sketch card fan.
Last Packs opened:
2 boxes of mars attacks: the revenge => 1 artist auto, 1 medallion & 2 silvers.

Next Packs:
nothing in sight

People I dealt with: card_fiend2013 ; rack85

1st, welcome to the hobby and to Beckett!

You are guarenteed "hit's" (auto's or relics) buying hobby boxes. You are not by buying retail. You do not however have to buy boxes from a hobby shop, you can purchase them online. Buying retail doesn't diminish your non-guarenteed hit chances.....the back of packs tells how and what are seeded throughout the product run. Also, there are only certin inserts and parallels that are available in either hobby or retail. Some folks swear by retail, others not so much. There are others who don't buy anything but individual cards.

My suggestion is to start out slow and figure what it is that you want to collect. Nothing worse than buying a bunch of stuff that ends up sitting in boxes because you can't move it via trades or selling. Everybody has different tastes and economic situations so putting a blanket statement out there is just wrong. Go onto as many sites as possible and, especially here, ask questions!!!!!