Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Minimum Value For A Graded Card

Minimum Value For A Graded Card
This is my first time on the forum.

Is there a thumbrule for the minimum value for a graded card? For example, say a card has a mint value of $1.50. What would the same card be if it was graded 9? I believe that just the fact that a card is graded typically increases its value. But is there also an increase in value just because of the fact that it cost something to grade the card?

Thanks

RE: Minimum Value For A Graded Card
I don't believe there is a set amount and it would depend on the value to the person buying it... For me, a psa 9 $1.50 BV card would be less than a raw card, just because they are a pain to store.

For someone whoe collects graded it may be worth a couple bucks more...
PC Players: Alex Bregman and Christian Yelich. Looking for any and every I don't have.
Other Players: Luis Ortiz Jr., Rowdy Tellez, Touki Toussaint

It really depends on the card. However almost any modern card with a book value of $1.50 would not be worth grading (as the cost of grading would outweight the potential in return). That being said, it hasn't stopped people from getting these cards graded. A $1.50 card with a grade of 9 will command a slight premium but most $1.50 cards can easily be bought for $0.25 raw, so a graded 9 might sell for $1. It definitely doesn't offset the cost of grading. There are a lot of late 80s and early 90s rookie cards that people got graded thinking they would be big money, but that isn't the case.
Collecting John Stockton, Karl Malone, Ivan Rodriguez, Gary Carter & UF player rookie year cards.  Plus Jedd Gyorko rookie and prospect cards.
Jedd Gyorko 2010-2013: Have 329/419 including 1/1s
Wantlist: http://sites.google.com/site/sportscardsite/set-needs/