`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Something to collect besides Heritage

Something to collect besides Heritage
So I've been collecting Topps Heritage for a couple years, and have near master sets from 2002-2013 except 03 and 09. In addition to that I make an occasional PC addition (Jeter, Rivera, Harper, Trout, Stanton, and BGS 9.5 rookies from the Yankees WS champs at the right price). Anyway, I need something else to collect. Baseball only. I like to build sets, but wish Heritage had more first cards of players (Harper had about a zillion cards in 2011 and 2012 before he had a regular issue Heritage card). Hits are cool too, but not so cool if the non hits belong in the recycle bin. And I'd like to stay below $120 a box. I've been looking at A&G, Gypsy Queen, and base Topps, but haven't pulled the trigger. I'm not driven by $$ return on the box, but if I'm going to pay $100 to open a box, I should get $100 worth of entertainment, and some of that comes from return. Any suggestions? Thanks!!

Doug

RE: Something to collect besides Heritage
I'm not a fan of A&G....each years cards look almost exactly the same to me. Gypsy Queen I like, but like A&G, each year is starting to blend together. I guess it comes down to what floats your boat! I was in a quandry in that I really like the thrill of opening but putting sets together was too much work (I really didn't enjoy chasing cards of players I cared nothing about) and wasn't really fun for me. I decided to collect Phillies and only Phillies as my PC, everything else is either up for trade or being sold to replenish funds. I'll never get borded as I truly love the Phillies and can never really complete the collection...just my 2 cents. Really comes down to what will make you happy.
*When it's all said and done - all we have left is our reputation.