`
Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
newbie needing advice

newbie needing advice
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here. Used to have an account many moons ago. Anyway, I have a dilemma that I need help with.

About a month ago, I purchased a hobby box of 2012 Bowman Chrome, and pulled a monster hit. The box was a "hot box" w/ 2 autos in it. One I can't remember, but the other one was a Billy Hamilton red refractor #5/5!!!

I checked Ebay, and haven't found any red refractors for sale. I did see a completed auction for a purple auto, and that one sold for over $800!!

Now here's my problem: should I sell it now, or get it graded and hold on to it? I'm reluctant to do this, because back in 2003, I pulled a Hanley Ramirez auto from another Bowman Chrome hobby box. I was ecstatic when I found out that this card was selling in the $150-250 range raw (ungraded)!!

I sent it to Beckett, it came back a 9, with the auto grading a perfect 10!!

I promptly put it away w/ my other graded cards in a safe deposit box @ my bank, figuring to hold on to it until my girls go to college.

Imagine my disappointment upon learning that this card (the '03 Ramirez auto) now sells for about $60 raw. I figure I can get maybe $200 or so for my BGS 9.

I don't want to spend the $$ to get the Hamilton refractor auto graded and slabbed if it's going to crash in value in just a few years. I figure if an ungraded purple one sold for over $800, I might have a shot at getting $1k or more for my red one (given that there are only 5 of these in existence).

So, what say you card gurus?? Should I sell it? Keep it and get it graded and slabbed (while praying it doesn't crash in value)??

What to do, what to do???

Sorry for such a long post, but I'm really not sure what to do here. Advice is appreciated. Thanks.

RE: newbie needing advice
billy hamilton is a player type that doesnt get a lot of love after the prospect phase

sell now

Agree sell now.