(Toll Free)
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
1968 Topps Pete Rose / Grade or not?
11-04-2012, 04:56 PM
1968 Topps Pete Rose / Grade or not?
Hi Folks!

First, please forgive me as I am new here and to card collecting. I apologize in advance if I have put this in the wrong area of the forums. I also thank you in advance for any advice you can lend, as well as for your knowledge.

I recently picked up a 1968 Topps Pete Rose #230. I obtained it from a gentlemen who says he has owned it for at least 20 years. Upon inspection (before purchasing it) I gave it a cursory look over for the usual stuff (centering, edges, corners etc..). However being an amateur I honestly made a colossal mistake by not noticing a small "4" written on the back of the card in black ink. Had I noticed it, I certainly would have passed on buying it.

I wanted to post the card here for you folks to advise me on whether or not I should sending it out for grading. Its not my desire to spend more money on the card grading it, then the card value itself. I only have a general idea of the value really. So if you could lend your opinion as to whether its worth grading, I certainly appreciate it A LOT! =)

Upon my inspection, I note the following flaws: 2 corners have very minor creases/wear but its not terrible (to my amateur eyes). The centering is a bit off and of course the "4" marked in ink on the rear. Other than that, the card looks pretty nice to me. I do understand that graders are very critical and expect my card to be pinged for more flaws than I actually see.

Anyhow, thanks again, here are the images!

[Image: 1.jpg]
[Image: 2.jpg]
[Image: 3.jpg]
[Image: 4.jpg]
[Image: 5.jpg]
[Image: 6.jpg]
[Image: 7.jpg]
[Image: 8.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-04-2012, 09:11 PM
RE: 1968 Topps Pete Rose / Grade or not?
I would say nay, espescially with the pen markings on the other side. It will get a very low grade.