Connect With Us!
IOS Store
Share Thread:

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New to the hobby!
Smile 
New to the hobby!
Hey everyone, I'm very new to collecting cards. I only started about a month ago whenever I was helping my grandfather clean out his attic and found some of my uncle's older cards. So far I have around 400-500 cards, and only a few are graded. Most are in very nice condition:

Any tips/suggestions for a rookie like me?

How do I know which cards I should send to beckett to have graded?

What are some of the best ways to come across valuable cards, without paying high-dollar premiums?

What are some cards that will be on the up and coming in the future that I should look into?

Thanks in advance!! Any suggestions are much valued and appreciated!
Currently collecting Ravel Santana Bowman Prospect Auto refractors!
Need: Red, Purple, Gold, Orange & Super.

If you see any items listed on eBay or for trade please let me know!!

RE: New to the hobby!
First off welcome! It can be very fun... Questions answered below.

My advice is to pay the $20/year for org at a minimum, but it is more wise to pay for the pricing since everyone around here trades at book value (BV).

rule of thumb is if you can see damage with the bare eye, dont send them in. The exceptions are if they are older (pre-1970) or a hall of famers...then u can be a little more flexible. any base card from 1980-2005 should not be sent in unless it is a rookie because they were all overproduced and the value has gone to shat.

What are some of the best ways to come across valuable cards, without paying high-dollar premiums?
ebay or craigslist. You can also buy from people here. If you dont want to buy, the best way is to trade.

What are some cards that will be on the up and coming in the future that I should look into?