Beckett Message Boards
Do you have to work at keeping this a hobby? - Printable Version

+- Beckett Message Boards (https://www.beckett.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Hobby Talk (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Baseball (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Do you have to work at keeping this a hobby? (/thread-1618248.html)

Pages: 1 2

Do you have to work at keeping this a hobby? - kerryandbeth - 08-11-2020

2 years ago my PC reached the $50,000 mark per Beckett.  This did not include all the 'n/a' cards for various reasons, so perhaps it was closer to a total value of $55K.  Anyway, I started trading in others' favor and giving away cards (many posts in the forum about this) while still purchasing a couple of products each of those two years.

My collection value stayed the same.  Then I threw away over 3,000 base cards, sold some at huge discounts, and started doing online breaks of Elite Extra Edition.

My collection value stayed the same.  Last week I donated nearly 5,000 cards, sold some at discounted prices on COMC, and used some of the funds to buy singles for my PC, stopped buying hobby boxes and no online breaks since February.

My collection value is still the same after some value increases this week.  So, it is tough to not get caught up in the value of the collection and to stay focused on my PC as a hobby.  I have to keep reminding myself that an increase in any particular card is nice but not the goal or reason to change it.

There are 6 boxes of 2020 Bowman Sterling on its way that I purchased at $200/box back in February.  They sell for over $300/box now and may contain some really nice autos.  It will be difficult to keep those cards as a hobby and not get caught up in the hype if I get a numbered auto of Wander Franco or Jared Kelenic or Jasson Dominguez or Luis Robert or Fernando Tatis Jr., or many other prospects and rookies in this product.