Beckett Message Boards
New to Beckett and New to Collecting - Printable Version

+- Beckett Message Boards (https://www.beckett.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Hobby Talk (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Football (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-6.html)
+--- Thread: New to Beckett and New to Collecting (/thread-1605627.html)

Pages: 1 2

New to Beckett and New to Collecting - MichaelSmith87 - 01-07-2017

Hey guys, this is my first post and I just wanted to say hey and introduce myself.

I am new to collecting cards -- getting a really, REALLY late start (almost 30) -- and thought it would be smart to sign up here at Beckett and join the community. None of my family or friends really collect cards so I have been in hardcore "try to learn everything I possibly can on my own" mode and it's been a little overwhelming to say the least.

I've only really been collecting since last summer and I've primarily been focusing on football cards as that's my favorite sport. I do like basketball and baseball, but football is at the top of my list. My collection thus far isn't very large, in fact, it's practically non-existent -- maybe getting close to 600 in total. Due to finances, my collection is accumulating at the rate of a lazy, slacker sloth who is addicted to hibernating.

The purchases that I have made have kinda been all over the place -- not sticking with one product -- being new to the hobby I've been stuck in "kid in the candy store" mentality and everything is just kinda awesome so I see something new and shiny and I just go after it... And I really have no idea what I'm doing, so I'm sure that doesn't help. So yeah, that's kinda where things are right now.

Anyways if you guys have any tips or suggestions that you could pass along to a rookie like me, I'd be very grateful. Thanks for reading and I look forward to being a part of the community!

Cheers!

-Michael

RE: New to Beckett and New to Collecting - jeremy7269 - 01-07-2017

Michael