Beckett Message Boards
Question about grading. - Printable Version

+- Beckett Message Boards (https://www.beckett.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Hobby Talk (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Baseball (https://www.beckett.com/forums/forum-2.html)
+--- Thread: Question about grading. (/thread-1577018.html)

Pages: 1 2

Question about grading. - rpeterson369 - 08-19-2015

So I've been collecting for many years, but am just starting to dabble with graded cards. My question is in regards to Beckett's pricing on graded cards when it comes to autos. Now days I see Beckett grades not only the card but the auto on the card as well. When looking up a card in the price guide it looks like the pricing is just listed by the card grades. Am I missing anything or does the auto grade not really factor in? Obviously a 9.5/10 is better than a 9.5/9, but I didn't see a separation in the price guide. I'm guessing I'm missing something here Smile

RE: Question about grading. - jonathani - 08-19-2015

I look at it as personal preference. I don't let the auto grade affect cards I buy at shows, but if I have to choose a 10 or a 9, the 10 gets my money as long as the seller hasn't put some crazy premium on the fact that a grown man knows how to spell his name.

RE: Question about grading. - Nintari - 08-19-2015

I personally don't agree with grading the autograph. Other than making sure it's authentically signed by the player/person, it should not have a separate value attached.

RE: Question about grading. - Hofcollector - 08-19-2015